Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has offered his verdict on two refereeing decisions from Hibs' weekend draw with Aberdeen.

Nick Montgomery's side left Pittodrie with just a point despite going ahead through Martin Boyle. Goals from Nicky Devlin and Jamie McGrath put the Dons in front before substitute Emiliano Marcondes grabbed his first Hibs goal to ensure a share of the spoils.

Hibs had a strong claim for a first-half penalty when, with the game poised at 1-1, Aberdeen defender Devlin blocked Jordan Obita's cross with his arm, prompting a review in the VAR room which ended with on-pitch referee David Munro being advised to take no further action.

Gallagher, though, believes Devlin was unfortunate not to concede a spot-kick, reasoning that the right-back had moved his arm towards the ball as it floated into the area.

 "He got lucky I think," said the ex-official on Sky Sports News. "Leans into the ball, gets lucky."

READ MORE: Every word from Martin Boyle Hibs Q&A after Aberdeen draw

Gallagher also assessed a second-half incident where David Marshall and Bojan Miovski competed for a bouncing ball in the Hibs penalty area. Marshall rushed out in an attempt to punch the ball to safety, with the two players colliding and Miovski requiring treatment for a head knock.

It was put to Gallagher that Miovski had received 'a punch in the face', and he responded: "He did, but the goalkeeper catches him after he gets the ball. The forward goes in, it's going to be a collision, but the keeper gets the ball first."

Speaking about the Hibs penalty incident after the game, Easter Road boss Nick Montgomery said: "I thought we should have had a penalty in the first half for handball. We’ve had a lot of those given against us, but unfortunately that one didn’t go for us. I don't want to get drawn into VAR but we have a screen where we can slow it down and have a look. There were two calls for handball in the same incident and you think you might get one of them, but his arm's away from his body and it's hit [Devlin's] arm, but I'm told it's not a penalty and it's been cleared. We just have to move on."